The five HDMI connector types pt.1

There are five different connector types for HDMI cables, each with different characteristics and features. The following information about each of them should help you when shopping for HDMI cables for your home entertainment system.

Type A HDMI connector

This type, which is defined in the HDMI 1.0 specification, has 19 pins and has the bandwidth to support all HDTV, SDTV and EDTV modes and devices. The outside dimensions of the plug (male) are 13.9mm x 4.45mm, whilst the inside dimensions of the receptacle (female) connector are 14mm x 4.55mm.

Type B HDMI connector

This connector is also defined in the HDMI 1.0 specification, but it has 29 pins rather than Type A’s 19. It can also carry double the video bandwidth compared to Type A, which makes it perfect for use with super high-resolution displays.

Type C HDMI Connector

This type is a mini connector that is defined in the HDMI 1.3 specification. It is specially designed for portable devices, which is why it is much smaller than Type A. However, Type C does feature the same 19 pin configuration as Type A, and the two can be connected using a Type A to Type C cable.

See pt.2 of this guide for the last two HDMI connector types – Type D and Type E.

This entry was posted in HDMI Cables Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.